Details

It was my first 1-on-1.

As an analyst, meeting company management plays an important role in the research of a stock. As much as it provides primary information of ground operations, it also reveals qualities of those in control atop. It is the managers who foster the culture, and culture is the “software” that runs a company.

In the midst of Tokyo’s summer heat, this was my opportunity to grill Japan’s largest security service provider. My boss  -the Director of Research- chaperoned to introduce “the new intern who will be covering your company” and invigilate my process.

Minato, Tokyo

En route to their HQ, he glances at my wrist.

“You should get yourself a watch. Nothing fancy, preferably a simple Japanese brand. SEIKO or CITIZEN would do,” he suggests. Then sensing my confusion, he continues: “How old are you, twenty-something?”

“I’m 22.”

“Not every company you meet will be the size of today’s. Imagine yourself entering the conference room: a young analyst, just out of college, in front of a management team twice- maybe three times your age. Despite having worked hard over the decades, many of the CEO’s you meet will be making less than your base. How will they feel, seeing a ROLEX on your wrist? What kind of image will you be portraying of our firm and this industry?”

Roppongi, Tokyo

I’ve chosen the right company.

This entry was posted in memory_bank and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Details

  1. Pingback: Details II | memory_0023122

Leave a comment